PHS volleyball

The Parker Broncs girls’ volleyball team, seen here in action in 2019, has been moved up to the 3A conference for 2020. They’ll start their season Sept. 1 at home against the Kingman Academy Tigers.

The Arizona Interscholastic Association has released the high school girls’ volleyball schedules for 2020, and the Parker Broncs are not only in a new region, they’re in a new conference.

The Broncs have been moved up a notch to the 3A conference. They’re now in the 3A West, along with a former 2A West rival, the Tonopah Valley Phoenix. The Kingman Bulldogs are also a conference rival for the Broncs. The 3A West region is rounded out by two schools that have been very challenging for the Broncs in recent years:  the Odyssey Institute Minotaurs of Buckeye and the Yuma Catholic Shamrocks.

The new volleyball season will be conducted following the AIA’s guidelines for the return of high school sports during the coronavirus pandemic. All athletic events were cancelled in March after Gov. Doug Ducey and State School Superintendent Kathy Hoffman ordered the schools closed for the remainder of the school year.

The Parker High baseball, softball and track seasons had just gotten underway when their seasons were cancelled. The golf season hadn’t even started yet.

The new sports season will be played with rules regarding social distancing and other practices intended to slow the spread of the virus will be in place.

The new volleyball season will get underway Tuesday, Sept. 1, when the Broncs face the Kingman Academy Tigers at home. The varsity is set for 6 p.m.

The following is the varsity schedule. This schedule is subject to change. Region games are indicated with “-R.” All home dates are in bold.

 

Tuesday, Sept. 1 v. Kingman Academy, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 3 at Arizona College Prep, 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 8 at River Valley, 6 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 11 at Lady Roughrider Challenge at Youngker High School

Tuesday, Sept. 15 at Lake Havasu Knights, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 17 v. Wickenburg, 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 22 at Yuma Catholic, 6 p.m. -R

Wednesday, Sept. 23 v. River Valley, 6 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 25 and 26 at Chandler Prep Volleyball Invitational

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at Veritas Prep, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 1 v. Kingman, 6 p.m. –R

Tuesday, Oct. 6 v. Odyssey Institute, 6 p.m. –R

Thursday, Oct. 8 at Tonopah Valley, 6 p.m. –R

Tuesday, Oct. 13 at Kingman Academy, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 15 v. Yuma Catholic, 6 p.m. –R

Tuesday, Oct. 20 v. Antelope Union, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 22 at Kingman, 6 p.m. –R

Tuesday, Oct. 27 at Odyssey Institute, 6 p.m. –R

Thursday, Oct. 29 v. Tonopah Valley, 6 p.m. –R

1
0
0
0
0

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.