There were several federal and state elections that were of interest to La Paz County residents on the Nov. 3 ballot. These were the results from these elections as of the latest reports on Wednesday, Nov. 4 on the Arizona Secretary of State’s website. They said 99 percent of the state’s precincts have reported in. A total of 2,793,359 ballots had been cast, for a voter turnout of 65.25 percent.

President of the United States

As is the case nationwide, the race for President of the United States in Arizona is too close to call. As of Wednesday morning, Former Vice President Joseph Biden, a Democrat, was leading the incumbent, Republican Donald Trump, 1,410,977 (51.01 percent) to 1,317,468 (47.63 percent). Libertarian Jo Jorgensen had 37,427 (1.35 percent).

U.S. Senator

Democrat Mark Kelly has defeated Republican incumbent Martha McSally, 1,410,977 (52.65 percent) to 1,300,119 (47.37 percent).

U.S. House of Representatives, District 4

The incumbent, Republican Paul Gosar, has been re-elected over Democrat Delina De Santo, 237,538 (69.01 percent) to 106,692 (30.99 percent).

Prop 207

Sometimes called the “recreational marijuana” proposition, this proposition would allow for limited possession, use and cultivation of marijuana by adults over the age of 21. It would also impose a 16 percent tax on marijuana sales that would be used to fund public programs. It has been approved, with 1,596,528 voting “yes” (59.85 percent) and 1,071,255 voting “no” (40.15 percent).

Prop 208

This proposition would impose a 3.5 percent tax surcharge on single individuals or married people filing individually with incomes over $250,000 or $500,000 for married couples filing jointly for the purchase of increasing funding for education. This one is still close, with 1,395,128 (52.56 percent) voting “yes” and 1,259,272 (47.44 percent) voting “no.”

Democrat Anna Tovar and Republicans Lea Marquez Peterson and James O’Connor were elected to the Arizona Corporation Commission.

The three legislators who represent La Paz County at the state level, Republican Sen. Sonny Borrelli and Republican State Representatives Regina Cobb and Leo Biasiucci, were unopposed and won re-election.


(2) comments

sam whittemore

sweet! sheeple voted to give commie teachers more tax dollars to further create more young commies. they didn't lie to you with the "red for ed" pay raise scam awhile back. dopey murikans fall for anything. remember! mask up! its for the children! at least we can go spark up a fattie now too. so long arizona! youre just east kali now.


Hit the nail on the head you did!

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.